The Ups, The Downs of The Elevator Industry (I know its cheezy)

  • This is pretty niche, which is awesome depending on your perspective

  • Most are in the major states that have construction and major cities so you won't find these jobs in the Midwest

  • This sucks, means its pretty hard to get in, BUT if you get in you are set.

  • Construction industry has taken a hit lately and with the potential recession in the windshield it may slow even more.

  • They do both Installs AND repairs, this means this thing will stay stable for the most part because the repair side can keep the boat afloat

900,000 - The estimated number of elevators currently in the United States. This equals 1 elevator for every 366 Americans

  • Technically, just a diploma.

  • I mean, you just have to be somewhat competent and you have a shot.

You have to take a Elevator aptitude test which tests on three topics: 

  • Reading

  • Mechanical

  • Math

Then you can go interview.

  • This is pretty standard, all three trades I got into had this test in a form or another

Wanna know how to pass it? 

  • resource to pass it is here

They make great money and its hard to get into it. But I mean,

  • What does their retirement look like?

  • How is their benefits?

  • What type of schedule do they work?

  • Do you even have to do that much?

  • Is it union or not?

If its hard to get in to, that means that they are aren't leaving, which is a great sign. So that leaves me with one question:

How bout we interview one and find out? 

I'll be reaching out to any and all to find out more about them because I've never heard of this job and my curiosity is eating me up wanting to know more about them.